Excellence in Education

 
     
 
Home About Us Contact Us News Testimonials Patient Information FAQ Hand Courses Login
 
     
  Please feel free to share you comments about our site, products, courses or us! Thank You  
     
 
Name:
Comment:
 

 
  Please let us know what you think of us.  
     
 
Hello! I just wanted to thank you for the excellent content that Exploring Hand Therapy offers. I had a 3 person study group that read the Hunter book chapters that corresponded with the "purple book" chapters in preparation for the CHT exam. The purple book offered a great review of the material that we read in the Hunter books and guided our discussions and helped us to learn the material, not memorize it. I also purchased 3 practice tests, which I believe were a huge part in me passing the CHT exam on my first attempt! I just wanted to thank you for all of the hard work and dedication that you both put in to the field of hand therapy! Thanks again!

Lindsay Gedney, MS, OTR/L, CHT, CLT-LANA
7/8/2013   Lindsay Gedney, OTR/L, CHT, CLT-LANA

Dear Susan and Nancy,

I just received my results and obviously i made it. I purchased tests 1-3 from this website. They seemed so difficult and frustrating each time i failed. However they helped me dig deeper in reviewing my material. Go over the 'quiz corner' in the free content section of this website, know those things like the back of your hand. The exam itself felt easy after having gone through these tests. I did not do the tests until i finished studying the Rehab (1-2) of the hand 6th edition. I also used the famous purple book and went through each and every test in that book. I took the test at the end of the purple book until i was getting 100 percent. I studied for 15 months. Additionally i attended the ASHT hand therapy review course. The material i purchased here really prepared me to pass. Memorize your brachial plexus, order of reinervation for peripheral nerves and the related nerve syndromes. Thats a must know. Reproduce that information on the peice of paper they give you, before you start the exam and you will be happy during the 4 hours, most of practical application will have something to do with that. Good luck to those preparing. Thank you Exploring hand therapy, I am a CHT !!!!!
6/14/2013   Maud Makoni OTR/L,CHT

I like the format of exam preparation.
7/8/2012   Susheel Pawtey, OT Reg(Ont.), CHT

The "purple book" and your practice exams were invaluable tools for my CHT exam test preparation. I also wanted to state that EHT went above and beyond in customer service. Thanks again for everything.
3/29/2011   Brian Junnier OTR/L, CHT

Dear Susan & Nancy:
Thank you both for the research, writings, and presentations you have contributed to our fields of occupational therapy & hand therapy.

I passed the CHT exam recently on the first attempt. The two main study tools used were the "purple book," and the Fifth Edition of the Rehabilitation of the Hand and Upper Extremity with a focus mainly on chapters authored by "therapists."

I will also emphasize that there is no replacement for hands-on practice in hand therapy as a solid way to prepare for any examination.

Best wishes for continued success in your scholarly endeavors.
1/1/2010   Jim Burns, OTR/L, CHT

I HIGHLY recommend your "Basics and Beyond" course as a primary resource for preparing for the CHT exam. I used this as my main studying source and passed the exam the first time! I can honestly say that I felt MORE than prepared for the exam and gained a lot of useful knowledge at the same time. I saved the "exam" part of the course and took it after the CHT exam and gained 38 contact hours toward re-certification in the process!
9/23/2009   Aubrey Bailey, PT, CHT

Dear Susan and Nancy,

I just wanted to thank you for your help in getting ready for my second attempt at the CHT test. Your purple book really is great. I read and re-wrote it out in notes 7 times!!!!! PAGE FOR PAGE.

Needless to say, I passed this time. Thanks a million. Even the kind words went very far!!!!!!!!
Thanks. Thanks and thanks!! Your help was priceless. I can not say thanks enough.


Sincerely, Augusta Simmons, OTR/CHT
7/13/2009   Augusta Simmons

Thank you, Susan and Nancy, for putting together such a wonderful resource to guide me in studying for the CHT exam. I took the test several years ago,but used my own resources - yellow books, journals, etc.I felt as if I were wandering in a jungle of information with no way to organize and process my thoughts. Your purple book, DVD's and web site helped me so much. I thank you from the bottom of my heart, as I have reached a goal that I once thought unobtainable.
1/12/2009   Juanita Vega OTR/CHT

I just passed the CHT exam, and I wanted to say thank you for your help. I have spent a lot of time studing from your education materials. I have used the Purple Book and Bascis & Beyond more that you will know over the past few years to get me to the point where I am today. I didn't have others to use as study partners so I had to find a way to help me stay organized and on track. Basics and Beyond help me do that. I had also got 3 of the practice exams which helped me get in the right frame of mind to take the test. Thanks for helping me reach my goal of becoming a CHT.

Thanks.
S. Brian Bennett, OTR/L, CHT
12/15/2008   S. Brian Bennett, OTR/L, CHT

Sorry,I´dont speak english. Las felicito por haber creado un sitio web tan completo y didáctico a cerca de la terapia de la mano. Son excelentes las MOVIE TIPS,los TEST y por supuesto la revista. Gracias por compartir el conocimiento!
8/28/2008   Alejandra from Necochea. Argentina

Thank you so very much for your quick response
to my emails & for forwarding the certificate copies.
I really appreciate your speed & flexibility w/
customer service. What a pleasurable experience, I
will definitely take more courses in the future as
well as recommend your site to peers.

Thanks again!
jml
4/15/2008   Jane M. Lissner

HandTherapy.com and CEO Susan Weiss are the very best! As a concerned guitarist facing a major thumb reconstruction surgery I spent many hours on the Internet trying to gain an appreciation of my surgical options, how to select the right doc, and knowing what to expect in the critical period of post surgery recovery and rehab. Ms. Weiss is an exceptional individual who not only demonstrates expansive knowledge of her field but is a most caring, empathetic, and compassionate person. Her coaching ( not medical advise ) was invaluable in helping me understand my situation and formulate the right questions. And, Ms. Weiss gave her time and savvy to a stranger in California. As a university professor and management consultant my sense is HandTherapy.com would be the preeminent resource for physicians and hand specialized physical therapists in education, training, and consultation within the impressive scope of her practice. It is rare to find an organization and a person like Handtherapy and Susan Weiss that set benchmarks for both technical expertise and caring. My heartfelt thanks.

Peter J. Gutierrez
Elk Grove, CA
1/28/2008   Peter J. Gutierrez

Dear Susan,
I submitted for recertifying (for the first time) for my CHT last week. When I started organizing the continuing ed. for recertification with NBCOT I found that HTCC had credited one course twice. And I am short 0.25 hrs. for HTCC. You kindly made one of your courses available for continuing ed. credit within a matter of hours, and on a weekend. (Do you ladies ever sleep??)

Thank you for saving the day. (and sorry for the paniced emails) Now when I call HTCC I can say I have a problem, but also have the solution.

You have my continuing ed. business for the duration of my professional career! Thank you again.
1/13/2008   Polly Grasser, OTR/L, CHT

Dear Susan and Nancy, I have just passed the CHT exam on the first try and wanted to thank you both from the bottom of my heart for providing a comprehensive learning experience. The tools that you have prepared are so wonderful for both preparation for the test and as a valuable reference for providing treatment in daily patient care. Thanks for the quality instruction. You are the greatest! Angela M. Slagley, OTR/L, CHT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
1/1/2008   Angela M. Slagley, OTR/L, CHT

Hi Susan,

Thanks for being such a great resource in helping me pass the CHT on the 1st try!

I will continue to order from your company in the future.

Utah's new CHT
Kim Schneider, OTR/L, CHT
12/21/2007   Kim Schneider, OTR/L, CHT

Just wanted to let you know that you and Nancy are my new OT heroes!!! I read the purple book at least 5 times and did a detailed outlined the basic and beyond package. Took all 5 test plus the purple book test multiple times. The CDs were helpful too. This was my 2nd time to take the test and the 1st time I didn't stand a chance of passing. I really owe it to your education products for passing the exam!!!

Kevin
12/20/2007   Kevin

Thank you guys for preparing awesome materials for review. They are very instrumental in helping me pass the CHT exams on my first attempt. Thank you as well for the quick responses to all my emails. More power to you guys!
12/17/2007   Vonn Marson, OTR/L,CHT

Dear Susan & Nancy---Thank you so much for the help over the past year. I just found out I passed the exam, and I couldn't have done it without the purple book and your web site. I appreciate the immediate responses back to questions I e-mailed into you. I also purchased 2 practice exams and they were worth every penny having passed on my first attempt. Thanks again for your efforts. I will definitely recommend your site and materials to those looking to take the exam.
12/17/2007   Anonymous

I wanted to write and thank you for your help studying for the hand therapy certification exam. I passed! Your Purple Book was THE single most helpful resource when studying. I have recommended it to my coworkers who will take the exam next year. Thank you for all your hard work.
12/16/2007   David Wolfe, OTR/L, CHT

Dear Susan and Nancy,

Thank you, thank you, thank you!! I just found out I passed the 2007 CHT exam! YAAAAYYY!!!!!
Oh my God! I could not have done it without you. Thank you for all the courses, but especially Basics and Beyond, The Purple Book and the practice exams. All were absolutely essential for my success.

I cannot express my appreciation enough for you two FABULOUS women. You answered every cry for help either by email and incredibly even by telephone. As I have said before I have never had this level of professionalism, customer support, technical support and genuine caring from any other professional organization in our field. And I have been an OT for 25 years!

Joining EHT was the best thing I have ever done! It is money well spent! In my opinion, EHT is essential for any therapist who wants to elevate his or her level of practice.

Thank you again! Much love to you both, God Bless and Happy Holidays!

Sincerely,

Debra Francis, OTR/L, CHT!!!!
12/12/2007   Debra Francis

The test result are in and I passed.......yeah for me !!!! ........... i honestly
can't believe it ........ I don't think i would have passed without this forum ,
your guidance and the test materials ......... This means so much to me !!!!
Words can not express my gratitude..... thanks again !!!!!!!
12/11/2007  

Thank you guys for helping me pass as well. Your practice exams were awesome and your response time to my emails was super fast!

It feels weird adding the CHT next to my name but at the same time it feels good kind of weird. Thanks again guys!
12/11/2007  

Nancy and Susan,
I just passed the CHT Exam. I wanted to say Thank you for all that you do. I have multiple CDs and I did the practice tests. The tests allowed me to discover my weaknesses and they helped me read and answer the questions. I am one of your biggest marketers. I tell colleagues and friends about your web site. Thank you again. Jerelyn Grader
12/10/2007   Jerelyn Grader

Yeah i passed the CHT exam ..................Thanks for everything . .i couldn't have done it without your materials ....YEAH................Ylisa Young
12/1/2007   Ylisa Young

I really appreciate your company's efforts! You have provided the availability of quality material, with more advanced levels of information, that can be viewed in the comfort of our homes, for a more affordable price and without losing time at the office. In this time when employers have cut continuing education benefits, this is a more affordable and timely method to gain continuing education.
7/15/2007   Linda Stanton

Thank you for writing the practice exams. I used them to prepare for the CHT exam. It helped me realize what areas I needed to look over again. It also helped decrease the stress of taking the actual test. I felt I knew what to expect and I passed! Your resources helped me become a CHT! Thank you,
7/15/2007   Julie Evans, OTR/L CHT

I just found out that I am now a CHT. What a great Christmas present especially after the first attempt! Thank you for putting together "THE PURPLE BOOK." It was extremely helpful in studying for the exam. It provided a good frame of reference as far as what to study for and where to begin. I would strongly suggest to those preparing for the exam to get your own copy today!
7/14/2007   Sincerely, Mary Ann Martinez, OTR/L CHT

I just want to say that the purple book made it easy to study with out having to haul around a ton of books. Thanks.
7/14/2007   Jason Dickinson OTR/L CHT (NEW)

I wanted you to know I passed the exam! You were very influential in helping my cross this milestone!
6/18/2007   Helen K.

Most helpful were the 2nd edition of the Purple Book, The Basics & Beyonds, McGee's, and the Secrets Series. I found the sample tests very helpful as they helped me identify areas of weakness and strengths. I found the questions to be worded much as the "real" test questions. I highly recommend the sample tests. Personally, I was very disappointed in ASHT's study guide. I paid for these books and courses from my own pocket and wanted to get good return on the investment.

Personally I think it should be a law that anyone practicing in hand therapy must have taken the Basics & Beyond course! It has tons of practical information that you can put to immediate use in the clinic.

follow up:


I just found out a few minutes ago that I passed the CHT exam. Thank you so much for all the wonderful courses and books. I KNOW that is why I was able to pass with my first attempt. Thank you from the bottom of my heart. Gotta go celebrate now!
6/15/2007   Annie McKittrick Crary, OTR/L CHT

Thanks Susan and Nancy for putting up with all my questions on the discussion board. It really helped me feel not so "alone". You guy really know your stuff! I learned so much from the answers you provided!
5/22/2007   Pam Karp

"I can't thank you enough for your response. I got more information from you than my PCP. I am very grateful."
5/19/2007   L. Foelsch

Very Technical yet spoken in understandable terms.
I am a speech neuro therapist, however I wanted to stay rounded. Hand therapy seemed so uninteresting until this course. The discussion of anatomy, films, hand outs, speaker enthusiam, ideas of modalities and content of topics were excellent. Thank you for clinic strategies as well as in depth theory to help with client/family explanations. Review of testing procedures excellent. I am excited about all the dynamic yet static-progressive splint ideas as well as specific ROM limits and acceptable ranges.
4/19/2007   Linnette Whitcher OTR

I took your quizzes and checked out a couple of your videos. You are doing a great job of keeping us informed and on our toes. It is amazing how you lose it if uou don't use it on a daily basis. Thanks for the website.
4/15/2007   Eileen

Thank you so much for all your help and guidance thanks for disseminating good sound ot hand practice. Much health and happiness,
4/11/2007   Cathy Kaiser

Thank you, and let me say that I really enjoy your courses. I am a stay-at-home mom of three and so I love the home study courses. Yours are the best I have ever done!!! Good job!!!

Stacy
3/30/2007  

Thanks to you and Nancy for providing so many wonderful learning opportunities and references to tackle an overwhelming amount of information. Grateful to you both for helping me pass CHT exam this past November.
3/30/2007   Linda S. Ostrander, OTR/L, CHT

Im one that you would say is on the other side of this. I had a battle with a glass while washing dishing...yes the glass won. Im 7 weeks post op. Bookkeeping by profession and my right hand having being in the war of the glass, I was ready to give up my career and just sit home. I was in the operating room for over 4 1/2 hours, a cast from fingertips to elbow and just about as thick. I decided to talk my doc into letting me go back to work only 2 weeks after the accident. Kind one of those let me see if I can do it..... I could. After having the cast removed...thinking in the back of my mind I would be able to pick up where I left off...NOT Im in therapy 3 days a week. I feel so much better have my visit and the boost that it gives me. I have search the internet for the homework type therapy. Finding this site....WOW, there are so many points and let me tell you it sinks in after reading this site. The video's great job. To the man that tells me how great Im doing with the homework..THANK YOU...to the inventories of the products....not enough words can tell you. Im not able to feel my entire hand or have full function of my index finger....but Im able to do alot more if it had not been for the tools that this site has to offer. To those that are looking for the career behind therapy....GOOD LUCK....study hard, check out this site often.....you are all stars in my eyes. Im thinking of going back to school...no not to finishing the accounting side but to help others as I have been helped.
3/21/2007   Tonia N

I have been an O.T. in hands for almost a year. You both encourage my goal to become a CHT. And you both have such dynamic personalities!! Thank you for sharing yur knowledge and enthusiasm for hand therapy!!
3/18/2007   Cynthia Pacial, OT

Thank you for your web site. I enjoy it very much and appreciate the time that you put into it.

Thanks for your time.
3/15/2007   Maryann McCauley OTR/L

I love your site and the interactive portion of it.
3/7/2007   Becky Metzger

Thank you for your materials. They were absolutely essential for my studying for and passing of the hand exam recently
2/8/2007   James "Casey" Callahan, OTR, CHT

Hi Susan,
I passed the CHT exam!!!! I want to thank you and Nancy both for providing awesome resources to study by. They really helped to prepare me for the exam.
2/2/2007   Elizabeth Duval

Suzie and Nancy-Thanks so much for writing back! Already she is feeling less pain and more hope with the modalities and edema reduction techniques..even tolerating a little ROM now. I appreciate you taking the time to communicate..it gives me more confidence I can truly help her!
2/1/2007   Krista Banwart Pekin, Illinois

Well! You certainly did an outstanding job. Thanks for in the inclusion of bio information. The newsletter itself is a production far greater in scope, size, content and excellence than I had imagined. Congratulations on such a creation.

Regards,
tjb
2/1/2007   TERRENCE J. BARRY, MD

Awesome feedback! Thank you.
You and Susan are like my hand therapy angels...I ask a question and poof I get my answer!
Thanks so much, love this forum.
1/22/2007  

Susan and Nancy-
First of all, I would like to give you all a huge thanks for helping me to pass the CHT exam this year!! I used your Basics and Beyond CD as well as the "purple book" along with some other references and felt very prepared. The practice tests were also well worth the money.
1/18/2007   Nicole Yates, OTR/L CHT

You hand Rehab Module 8 is an excellent course. This course provided a great opportunity to increase my knowledge base and obtain CEUs at home. I have taken a huge cut in pay this last year with all the Katrina chaos and was able to afford to maintain my license because of your online courses. Thanks and God Bless
1/10/2007   Kevin Lalond, LOTR, CHT.

Thank you all for an easy and informative way to get my CEU's!!! And best of all, I can pop the DVD in again to review something, or better yet, let my patients see the surgeries and anatomy to get a better appreciation of their recovery process!!
  Danielle Rose

I found the on-line course extremely informative. I was able to come up with numerous treatment ideas for my patients as each area/diagnosis was discussed. I really liked the on-line format, as I was able to pause, review the material and then move on at my own pace. I was very, very impressed with how quickly the instructor responded to my questions via e-mail. I asked a question and received an answer within 15 minutes on a Saturday! That is great customer service!
  Sherry Blake, OTR/L.

The Royal Pain in the Thumb was very thorough and provided good information in regards to evaluating and treating Thumb CMC DJD. The surgery on video was great. While it is great if you can go and actually see the surgery in person, this is not always possible.
  Meredith Cirtwell, OTR/L

Susan, you are so awsome! I just love working with you guys. I have never in my 25 years of practice received such prompt responses to my many, many questions, and such courteous and professional service. This includes inquiries to AOTA, ASHT and the local hand interest group. I sooooo appreciate it. Thanks!
  Debra Extremely Grateful EHT Member!

Thank you for being so passionate about hand therapy!
  Sheryl

Susan and Nancy,
I just wanted to say THANK YOU for the quiz corner, case studies and movie tips!! I have a 4 and 6 year old and find it very difficult to study toward the CHT test and figure it may be several years to feel ready. I was able to review the movie tips, case studies, and take the quizzes within an hour while also getting the kids breakfast and doing some clean up. I plan to continuously review these daily or as often as able as repetition helps learning. I am glad you ask some of the questions over on different quizzes as I may get a little smug thinking I know an answer when maybe I just guessed correctly or on difficult questions, it helps to have them asked again later for review and to jog my memory. I had studied and attempted to pass the CHT test back in 2002 and came close but no pass. I have noticed that I don't remember some of the things that I had studied. I will remember a phrase or procedure name but forget what it was. Your website is helping me greatly to study a little and build my confidence. This is great studying in between taking courses and reviewing books. I will eventually be buying your purple book as I studied out of it back in 2002 when someone let me see hers and borrow it. I plan to buy my own this time so I can review it a lot, just like your quizzes on this website. Thanks for keeping quizzes listed for awhile so we can keep reviewing. You guys are awesome!!!
  Tiffany Loewe

Dear Susan,

I used your video tips to treat a stubborn scar tissue. It’s fantastic.
Million thanks for you & Nancy.

Regards,

Manel.
  Manel.

The review course for the CHT exam is excellent! You guys have done a great job! Mahalo
  Shelly Brown

Thanks for all your work on developing these products. They have helped me to improve my skills and provide better patient care as well as educate other new therapist in our department. Your work is far reaching.
  Beth Wood

I had to recertify and needed an additional 7.25 CEU's. I logged on and found just what i was looking for. I've been a CHT since 1991 and have always had to struggle due to travel and cost to get CEU's. Your company fills a huge void, is very cost effective, and is extremely professional. Thank you!!!
  Neil Letcavage OTR CHT

I really enjoy the DVD format. It certainly makes continuing education for a working mother easy! Susan and Nancy, I have found you both to be a great resource. I will definitely be completing the bulk of my con ed requirements in the DVD/CD ROM method.
  Linda Schmidt, OTR/L, CHT

Dear Nancy and Susan-
I love this format for studying!!
The course content was thorough, and extremely informative. The best thing was being able to replay sections. I cannot do this in a regular class.
Thank you for your committment to our profession, and for your assistance as I complete my CE requirements.
Sincerely,
  Pat England, OTR/L

Hey Susan! I love your courses! They are so much better than HandCredits.com. Thanks to you and Nancy for keeping us hand people up to date. At our clinic, we are learning from Paul Bonzani's PAMs course every Tuesday during lunch. Sincerely,
  Monique Arsenault

I want to comment on the modalities course. I was so impressed with the knowledge of the instructor and proud that we have therapists that take theory and skills to this high of a level. In terms of modalities, I have been self-taught and taught by my PT co-workers, but nothing to the extent that this course teaches. I am the lone OT/hand therapist in a rural ortho practice and really rely on your courses to keep me up to date. I also feel that the DVD courses really meet my learning style because I love to watch them 2-3 times just to catch the things that I missed on the first go. I look forward to taking more courses in the future. Thank you so much
  Mary Leone

I truly both appreciate and respect yours' and Nancy's endless efforts and hard work (EXPLORING HAND THERAPY WEBSITE/NEWSLETTER, THE PURPLE BOOKS, CONTINUING ED COURSES AND OTHER RESOURCES) that you so graciously share with fellow clinicians to not only enhance us but to continuously reconfirm how rewarding it is to being the best possible therapist for our patients, at all times. Sincerely,
  Barbara Carroll, OTR/L

Once again, I would like to thank you for the assistance that you provided us this summer. You were incredibly kind and really went out of your way for Sunny Claussen and our group when you provided your article on thumb splints. It was most helpful and certainly sparked our interest in further research. I just wanted to let you know, that I have made your book (the hand reference) a required text for my students in the hand rehabilitation and splinting class at Barry University! It is a user friendly resource, even for the students who are not terribly interested in hand. I will also give them your web address as a resource for hand related information. I hope to meet you in the near future. Thank you again for your incredible kindness.
  Lysa E. Shocket OTR/L, CHT

It was 6 years ago when I first heard of you gals---I was at the Indiana Hand Conference to learn more information for the CHT exam that was scheduled 5 months later. Someone told me of your book and I did as so many of us "hand lovers" did---took that book everywhere all summer and fall. I got that CHT and went on to teach. Got in a "comfortable rut" with my regular Docs (great Docs though) and my high volume case load-- Then my husband's military career took me the the Pacific. Continuing Ed here on Guam is limited, but not anymore thanks to your great courses!!! Treatment2Go was a super course. I learned alot. Even old dogs can learn new tricks!!!!! You gals are great!! Thanks for all you do to help therapist as well as patients you will never meet!! Thanks again.
  Leslie Boone, OT/CHT

Thank you so much for making sure everything went well (with downloading your newsletter). Yes, I did have trouble but it was with me---according to my son. It's been printed, read, re-read, and saved. I absolutely love you ladies!!! You have literally changed my life! You have really helped bring it all together for me. I have been following you ladies for a while, and always look forward to everything you do. You have done so much for the hand therapy world!! I look forward to meeting you in September in San Antonio. Keep up the good work!! You are inspiring so many of us!!! Thank you,
  Ellie Pavlov Krause, OTR/L, CHT

I LOVE your newsletter and your books/cont. ed info. Is it possible to retrieve old newsletters online? I have tried to save all the ones I had and inadvertently deleted 10/03 and 02/04 from my hard drive. Again I thank you for your good work and service to our profession. Sincerely,
  Sue Gentile OTR, CHT

Susan and Nancy,
I want to begin by saying a big thankyou to the two of you. What an asset you both are to the therapy world and the field of hand therapy. Last year I read a testimonial by a therapist in Idaho that worked alone (I could relate!)and had passed the CHT exam and had used the basics and beyond. I was inspired to say the least. I too purchased Beyond the Basics and both the first and second purple book. (You were able to get the second purple book to me in less than 24 hours which gave me 3 weeks to read it before the exam.) The purple book second edition and The Basics and Beyond were the glue that pulled all my information together. You explain things in terms that can be understood, related to and remembered. I know your products were very instrumental in my success with the hand exam and would recommend them without hesitation to any aspiring CHT. Sincerely,
  Julie Batchelor OTR, CHT

I want to thank you for your "purple book." I truly believe it was the reason that I was able to pass the CHT exam on my first try. I recommend it to all my staff when they are preparing for the exam. I continue to use it as a reference and teaching tool, as well. Sincerely,
  Vicki Rink

THANK YOU! THANK YOU! THANK YOU!
Not only for the conception of practice exams, but also for all the wonderful work with your on-line courses and that terrific newsletter. After my THIRD try I was finally able to pass this *&^%$##@@ exam. I first took it the second year it was offered, the "year of controversy." The second time I took it was in 1998, and finally this year ("Third time is a charm" was my mantra) Your study materials were probably THE BEST of everything there was to study. The format, the references, the explanations, and the clinical gems (LOVED the clinical gems) all made this exam much more do-able. Am I better a therapist for it? You betcha! AND I passed THE exam!
  Christie Sternbach-Feist, MA, OTR, CHT

... I also bought the Comprehensive Review CD ROM by Nancy and Susan, Rehab of the Hand, Fundamentals of Hand Therapy, and The Interactive Hand. I basically sacrificed buying new clothes for the year to have the best materials out there. Between THE PURPLE BOOK! and the Comprehensive Review CD ROM, I felt like I had it all! (I sound like Whitney Houston)…
  Dana Eber, OTR/L, CHT Orthopedic Care Center- Aventura, FL

Thank you very much. I purchased both practice exams and found them to be helpful in determining my weak areas. Also, the Purple Book 2nd edition was a great study tool the last few weeks before the test. Thank you both for helping me pass the test and for your dedication to our profession.
Sincerely,
  John E. Duffy, OTR/L, CHT!!!

Just a quick note to say thanks for your great courses! I really like the convenience of the on-line classes that you can do at your convenience. I really appreciate the variety offered and how thorough the courses are with all the little treatment tidbits you give. Looking forward to many more of your great classes!!!
  Sue Dervin - OT

I just wanted to thank you so much for putting together that comprehensive CD-ROM -The Basics and Beyond! I used it to help study for the CHT exam and I passed...first time!!!!!!!!! I will recommend it to others studying for the exam. The Basics and Beyond CD helped tremendously...not only the content but just to put my mind at ease because it is so comprehensive. I know I had anxiety over where to begin. When I got the CD, I came up with a study guide of how many chapters I would get done each month. If I fell behind, I had to kick it up a notch to get back on track. There is also a great test at the end. It was obvious the FIRST time I took the test where my weaker areas were, so I would spent more time studying those weaker areas, then I took the test again. The test also helps to get you in the test taking mode becuase it has200 questions, just like the CHT exam. Again...thank you soooo much, it was very helpful.
  Dawn Hentschke OTR/L,CHT,CEAS

Susan,
I used the Hand Therapy CD to study. Thank you so much!! I learned a huge amount of information from it. Better yet, it inspired me to continue my learning. Now I just need to take the online exam to get my credits. Thank you for providing this great information.
  Sharon

Dear Susan and Nancy,
It is with great pleasure and appreciation I write to let you know how instrumental your products were to me. I can recommend with complete confidence your book and on-line courses to anyone who desires to gain a deeper knowledge of hand rehabilitation. Your products are priceless!! They are a must for anyone wishing to successfully prepare for the CHT exam. As you know, I took the exam in November (first time) and am now a CHT!!
Hand Rehabilitation: A Quick Reference Guide and Review went everywhere with me. Not only was this a great tool for evaluating my understanding, but it guided and directed my studying to areas that required further attention. As soon as I realized how invaluable the book was, I decided to give the on-line courses a try. Not only are the courses informative and educational, but so convenient to take as well - no packing or traveling involved. It could not have been any easier!! I am so completely satisfied with all my purchases and am convinced that using your products was the best investment I could have made towards advancing my career. I look forward towards continuing my professional growth and development with you in the future as well. Thanks for the exceptional learning tools you have available to your fellow colleagues - EHT is a rare find. Also, many heartfelt thanks for your support and encouragement you gave me while I prepared for the exam - I could not have done it without you!
  Marlisa Nolan OTR/L CHT

Nancy and Susan you take the fear and trepidation out of learning where many educators do not. People feel comfortable asking you all questions that they might now ask other instructors. This is a valuable trait and very powerful. It shows you all are confident in your knowledge, confident to share your knowledge with others. YOU GO GIRLS!
  Diane Johnson MOTR/L

I used the Hand Therapy CD to study. Thank you so much!! I learned a huge amount of information from it. Better yet, it inspired me to continue my learning. Now I just need to take the online exam to get my credits. Thankyou for providing this great information.
  Sharon Fisher

I just finished the wound healing course at http://www.live-conferences.com. It is very comprehensive and straightforward. I can't remember learning so much in an hour. Now I can't wait until I get the CD-ROM (Basics and Beyond ) - thinking of all the good stuff in there. Can't thank you enough for creating this teaching tool. Living and working here along the Texas-Mexico border makes me appreciate the method of delivery even better. Being from an underserved area, I've always travelled to attend seminars. This is a first for me. Just to let you know you're doing a great job and a great service. Keep up the good work.
  Annabel

Susan, thanks for the personal response. I have been to one of your courses in Las Vegas (you were in the initial stages of pregnancy) and found it challenging and rewarding. I have been to numerous since then and did not find them as challenging which says quite a lot. I will be purchasing numerous video's, books, etc from you as I buckle down and get serious about limiting my scope to only hands. Work has been hopping with hands lately and I am earning the trust of a good hand surgeon. I want to thank you for giving me the inspiriation to do so. I love our profession and when people like you and Nancy respresent it, I am even more proud. Thanks. Congratulations on the birth of your baby too!
  Mark Ritter, OTR/L Sedona, AZ

I thought the information was good in the Managing the First CMCJ and learned something new with the taping. I am looking forward to trying that on my next client. Also it was helpful seeing how you made the splint. I am definitely going to register for another online course from live conferences.
  Mary Beth Monte

I loved the CMC course. I went to work today and immediately put into practice the concepts I learned. Thank you so much. I do not have the benefit of other OT's around in the clinic so I loved having this immediate access to education. I am just now getting back into outpatient and hands after being away from this setting for 5 yrs. Thanks so much for your support.
  Windy

I'm looking forward to purchasing other courses in the near future. Keep up the good work. By the way "the purple book" was a great help studying for the CHT exam. Thanks again,
  Eugenia

OMIGOSHHHHHHHHHH Nancy, THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU......I know how busy you must be and I cannot begin to thank you for taking the time to write me back in detail. You have explained to me so much better than any book could have done. Now I understand much better the basis of tenodesis and the many ways it is used. It really meant a lot to me to have you try to explain my lengthy questions. These questions have been bothering me for months and finally, I see some LIGHT. You are WONDERFUL. Thank YOU!! Sincerely,
  Doni Villavaso

Hello Susan,
I really enjoyed your course -- it was educational and entertaining! Thank You.
  Sheryl Massey OTR/L,CHT

Nancy,
I just wanted to let you that I recieved the Basics and Beyond Manual today. It looks great! Thank you very much for your assistance!
  Sandy Carelock

Just wanted to let you know that your RSD conference was just great! I learned quite a lot regarding medical management and reinforced my own clinical ideas (as well as some new ones). I just loved being able to instant message questions and appreciated the timely response. The day really flew by........now if you could video babysit my kids that would help immensely (ha!). Keep up the pioneer spirit!
  Janet Harris

Excellent course, modified for all levels of experience with explanations of concepts expressed in a simplified manner for all to understand. Instructors personal experiences, tips and case studies added tremendously to course content. Susan and Nancy are fine educators and a asset to our profession.
  Charleen Stennett OTR/L

Great Course. Wonderful use of video's and pictures detailing surgical procedures and correlating it back to therapy. Excellent use of clincial pathways with tools/ideas to bring back to the clinic, perfect for someone familiar with hands, but looking to advance their skills
  Mellisa Cunningham OTR/L

I thought one of the best features was the live interaction so I wouldn't suggest omitting that. I do look forward to seeing the archived course also. I have attended a live and in person course which Nancy taught (you were on maternity leave I believe) and now have had the opportunity to sample this new medium.. Both are great. I'll be back.
  Janet

This course was well organized and highly informative! Looking forward to the internet courses! Your delivery was practical/relatable with a healthy dose of humor!
  Renee Russaro OT

Exellent, Innovative and resourceful!
  Tamara Pinchersky-Font OT

"I passed the CHT exam in November and know that it would have been a lot more difficult to study without the "purple book." The book has visited Seattle, Boston, Virginia, Disney World, and Pennsylvania. It is now in its permanent home in my therapy room in North Carolina. My study partner took his to Ireland and Spain (he passed too). Thanks again,"
  Laura

"Prior to the Nov 3 CHT exam, I took Suz and Nancy's UE review course via the internet. I am still amazed by the two tremendous volumes of information I ended up with after taking and printing out the course. They have already proved to be an invaluable source of clinical info at my clinic. The course was a perfect way to tie up all of the information I had been studying, and receive a comprehensive review of every major topic of UE rehabilitation, presented in a way that only Sue and Nancy can present- with wisdom, ingenuity, and clarity. I have since found out that I passed the CHT exam, and largely credit my success to the resources I used to study: Sue and Nancy's book "Quick reference guide and review" and their unparalleled internet course. Anyone planning to sit for the exam would be crazy to pass up this learning experience guided by two of the best clinicians out there! "
  Lynn Agnew OTR/L CHT

"Hi. My name is Sandy Payne and I was in your class in Columbus Ohio and won the question and answer session. I got notice today that I passed the CHT exam and wanted you to know and to thank you both for all your help. Without your book and course I would not have made it. Thanks again."
  Sandy Payne

Hi Susan,I don't know if you remember me but I had surgery to correct a torn TFCC back in July. I wrote you to ask about the pain I was having during therapy. You patiently answered all my questions and gave me the encouragement to press on. Just wanted to let you know how much progress I have made to this point. It has been 11 weeks since the procedure was performed. I can toss my splint into the ocean as of next week !!!Here are the measurements taken last Friday. Ext 70 Flex 65 Sup 75 Pron 80. I really don't even care too much about the numbers anymore. All I know is that my wrist is feeling pretty good and my Doc says I can definitely return to playing goalie again by January! Thanks again for your help and I would recommend your site to anyone in need !!
  Ed

I'm not sure how I got on your mailing list... but I'm glad I did! I've become so disappointed with most "newsletters" and publications regarding Occupational Therapy and Hand Therapy because they seem to be solely research oriented! Your publication was full of useful information and day to day clinical treatment hints that I enjoyed, even after practicing in hands for 15 years. Keep up the good work and thanks for your efforts!"
  Nancy Parrish, OTR, CHT

"Just wanted to say thanks a lot for your online hand therapy course! I used it as a study aide for the Hand Therapy Certification Exam in November and I am happy to say I am now a CHT!!!!! Thanks again!"
  Jim Wagner OTR/L, CHT, CSCS

"I may never have to buy another textbook! The resource I am building with this course is incredible! Your outlines are so, so understandable and have uncovered some mysteries for me. This course has the content of 10 typical ctg ed courses. I am almost done with the Nerve section, which , next to wounds is my favorite so far. Awesome web ref's on the individual nerves. You guys should be so proud of your work."
  Lynn

Thank you so much this course was awesome as I am a new grad and want to learn all I can. Thank you again and I will defiantly recommend this site to many others. I am also planning to take many more OT courses with your company. Thank you again!! Margaret
 

Don't know if you remember me, but I was the OT who was e-mailing questions I had re: the purple book, quite frequently a while back.

Thank you so much for taking the time to answer my questions and I wanted to let you know that I passed the CHT exam--1st try. It is largely due to your book and also you clarifying some of the anatomy questions I had.

Thanks again! Rita D Schnell
  Rita D Schnell

Hi Nancy,

Thank you for the user id and password. I have been registered for Part 1 but I am planning on purchasing Part 2 very soon.

Thank you again for this awesome class! I just cannot say that enough…my other OT colleagues are planning to do this course as well.

Sincerely,
Summer
  Summer

 
     
   
  Copyright 2006 | Exploring Hand Therapy Company | All Rights Reserved | Terms & Conditions